Thales UK Limited

Test Design Engineer Apprentice (Level 6 Embedded Electronic System Design and Development Engineer) - Degree (Level 6)

Thales UK Limited (Employer)

East Surrey College (Training Provider)

Annual wage £7,984.60
37.0 hours per week Monday - Friday, 37 hours per week Start and end time per day will be confirmed by manager
4 years (duration)
6 September 2021(start date)
5 January 2021 (application closing date)
Register interest

Job Description

The role will develop both your hardware and software skills to become a confident, positive and flexible engineer with well-honed technical knowledge gained from academic commitments, supporting the team to deliver test solutions to deadlines and within budget.


What will the apprentice be doing?

Programming skills & software design, Solution engineering & hardware architecting, experience of working in an integrated team environment, across a diverse range of products and projects. Familiarity with product data management, requirements management, & the product development lifecycle. Knowledge of work package management & estimation. Develop quality test solutions that adhere to time-scale and budget. Develop domain specific knowledge, including safety and airworthiness requirements.

What training will the apprentice take and what qualification will the apprentice get at the end?

As a Test Design Engineering Apprentice you will be studying towards a degree in Embedded Electronics Systems and Design Development Engineer, following the Engineering pathway. For the duration of this 4 year programme you will combine university studies with practical application, working within our system function in Crawley.

What is the expected career progression after this apprenticeship?

At the end of the apprenticeship you will be working as a Test Design Engineer.

Skills Required

Communication skills, Attention to detail, Problem solving skills, Number skills, Team working

Qualifications Required

GCSE or equivalent 5 GCSE'S including Maths and English (Grade A-C (9-4)) Essential
A Level or equivalent 3 A levels, Maths & 1 further stem subject (Grade BBC) Essential
Register interest