Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Data Analyst Apprenticeship - Level 4 - Higher (Level 4)

Department for the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (Employer)

Bc Arch Limited (Training Provider)

Annual wage £22,426.00
37.0 hours per week Monday to Friday, 9.00am to 5.00pm
24 months (duration)
1 January 2021(start date)
Data analyst (apprenticeship standard)
Digital (route)
1 November 2020 (application closing date)
Register interest

Job Description

If you enjoy working with data and are also passionate about protecting the environment, this role offers a perfect combination of work and purpose.


What will the apprentice be doing?

In this role you will learn how to:
• Identify, collect and migrate data to/from a range of internal and external systems

• Perform database queries across multiple tables to extract data for analysis using Python and R 

• Summarise, present and make recommendations from the results of data analysis with dashboarding tools like Power BI

• Use a range of analytical techniques such as spatial analysis with QGIS or ArcGIS, data mining, time series forecasting and modelling techniques


What training will the apprentice take and what qualification will the apprentice get at the end?

Training will be delivered remotely via a blend of online learning, virtual classrooms and workshops, and work based assignments. 

On successful completion of the apprenticeship you will have gained a Level 4 qualification (the academic equivalent of an HNC) and a British Computer Society Diploma in Data Analysis Concepts and a  Dell EMC Data Science Associate Certificate 

What is the expected career progression after this apprenticeship?

At the end of the fixed term apprenticeship you will have the knowledge, skills and behaviours to apply for other roles within Defra and across the wider civil service.

Skills Required

IT skills, Attention to detail, Problem solving skills, Number skills, Analytical skills, Logical

Qualifications Required

GCSE or equivalent 3 additional subjects (Grade A - C or 4 - 9) Essential
GCSE or equivalent English (Grade A - C or 4 - 9) Essential
GCSE or equivalent Maths (Grade A - C or 4 - 9) Essential
A Level or equivalent Any subject (Grade A - C) Essential
A Level or equivalent Maths or Computing (Grade A - C) Essential
Register interest